US Grants Temporary Protected Status for Nationals of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone

In response to the Ebola crisis  in West Africa, the Department of Homeland Security of the United States has  decided to grant 18 months of Temporary Protected Status (TPS) to citizens of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone. This means that eligible nationals of Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone who are currently residing in the United States may apply for TPS with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

TPS is also available to people without nationality who had their last habitual residence in one of those three countries. Those approved for TPS will not be removed (deported) from the United States and will be eligible to obtain an Employment Authorization Document (EAD). The registration period for this TPS status runs from November 21, 2014 through May 20, 2015.

Information about the procedures for applying for TPS are available at and for additional assistance you can contact our Immigration law office in Philadelphia by clicking here.


This entry was posted in Immigration & Citizenship Law, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.